St. Baldrick's Foundation
3 min readJun 28, 2018

--

Why I Shaved My Head

By Taylor Buss

When people ask me why I choose to work in pediatric oncology, I can only say that I feel that it is a calling. I was drawn to pediatric oncology early on and did my senior research in undergraduate school (Go Muskies!) on pediatric cancer survivorship. I continued this research throughout graduate school while pursuing my master’s in social work. During my research, I read a countless number of childhood cancer survivor stories and remember a particular story that piqued my interest in the St. Baldrick’s Foundation. From that day, I knew I wanted to participate in a head-shaving event.

After graduating grad school and earning my social work license, I worked at a hospice that served mainly older adults. I didn’t feel it was the right time to shave my head because I knew my ultimate goal and calling was to work in pediatric oncology and wanted to wait. During that time, I had a very short, pixie haircut. So, when I got engaged I knew it was the perfect segue into growing out my hair not only for my wedding, but so I could make double the impact when I finally shaved for St. Baldrick’s.

Fast forward to May 2017. I was offered a job at Cleveland Clinic Children’s in the outpatient pediatric oncology department where I now work with children and young adults diagnosed with solid tumors or brain tumors. I also have the opportunity to build the social work program in the High Five Survivor’s Clinic. My goal of working in pediatric oncology was met, but one more goal needed completing — shaving my head at a St. Baldrick’s event.

Luckily, our department has been involved with a local head-shaving event for many years and I quickly signed up. While fundraising prior to the event, I would hear many comments of shock, usually accompanied with “I could NEVER shave my head.” I took it as a way to educate people and share that childhood cancer research only receives 4% of the national budget for cancer research — this usually solicited a few more donations.

Finally, the day came to shave my head at a St. Baldrick’s event. What made this day even more special was having numerous colleagues from the pediatric hematology/oncology department shave their heads with me (including two other women). Walking into the event I was overcome with emotion. The energy and clippers were buzzing and I was eager to shave — only after snapping some before pictures, of course. My name was called and I was one of the first shavees on stage. The cape was thrown on and we were ready to go. One by one, I was handed my hair in pony tails and then it was time for the clippers. Originally, a patient from Cleveland Clinic Children’s was going to shave my head, but unfortunately he was ill that weekend. Before the event, he joked that he was going to shave my whole head except for my bangs. The stylist kept to her word and left my bangs for last. Let’s just say it wasn’t my best look!

Shaving my head was easy. The kiddos and young adults I work with daily don’t get to choose if they lose their hair. I was able to make the decision to stand in solidarity, raise money for childhood cancer research and donate my hair.

Foundations like St. Baldrick’s are crucial for childhood cancer. Without their support, research for new and innovative treatments wouldn’t be possible. I hope cancer is the thing of the past someday, but for now, we must do all we can to keep fighting.

Interested in shaving your head? Visit the St. Baldrick’s website to learn more.

--

--

St. Baldrick's Foundation

We’re a volunteer-powered charity committed to funding the most promising childhood cancer research grants. www.stbaldricks.org